NewsSlot MechanicsCluster PaysNetent
What is cluster pays in slots? Three studio sheets read
Cluster pays slots count touching symbols, not paylines. What NetEnt, Play'n GO and Pragmatic Play print for minimum cluster, grid, RTP and top figure.
By Staff, Spin & Tell
Cluster pays is a slot win system with no paylines. A win counts when a minimum number of matching symbols touch one another, horizontally or vertically, anywhere on the grid. That minimum is set game by game: five for Play’n GO’s Reactoonz and for Pragmatic Play’s Sugar Rush, per the studios’ own pages.
This is an evergreen explainer. The figures below are what three studio game pages printed when this desk read them on 24 October 2026, and they are set beside what the coverage ranking for the question prints about the same games, which is not always the same thing.
What is cluster pays in slots, exactly?
A payline slot asks where symbols sit: left to right, along a drawn line. A cluster pays slot asks only whether they touch. There is no drawn line for the symbols to sit on, so what counts is the size of the touching group. The composition of a win becomes a matter of adjacency rather than position.
Most cluster games pair the count with a refill. Reactoonz replaces the aliens in a winning cluster with new ones falling from above, per Play’n GO, and Sugar Rush calls its version tumbles. That loop, and how studios attach multipliers to it, is covered in how cascading reels work. Here the subject is the count itself.
Three studio sheets, side by side
| Game | Studio | Release date | Grid | Minimum cluster | RTP | Top figure printed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aloha! Cluster Pays | NetEnt | 22-03-2016 | 6x5 reels/rows | not stated on the page | 96.42% | 700 x bet max payout |
| Reactoonz | Play’n GO | 23 Oct 2017 | 7x7 | five or more | not on the page read | not on the page read |
| Sugar Rush | Pragmatic Play | not on the page read | not on the page read | 5 (clusters of 5-15+) | 96.50% | up to 150x in the base game |
The blanks are the point as much as the figures. NetEnt’s Aloha! Cluster Pays page gives a release date, RTP, a 21.00% hit frequency and a max payout, but no minimum cluster. Play’n GO’s Reactoonz page gives the grid and the five-alien minimum, but no RTP in the text read. Pragmatic Play’s Sugar Rush page gives the cluster range and 96.50%, and adds a multiplier that starts at 2x on a marked grid spot and doubles each time a winning symbol lands there, up to 128x. What a hit-frequency figure like Aloha’s measures is set out in what hit frequency means in slots.
What the coverage says about the first cluster pays game
Aloha! Cluster Pays is the game coverage calls the original of the format, and NetEnt’s sheet dates it 22-03-2016. The pages ranking for this question do not always agree with that sheet, or with each other.
| Aloha! figure | NetEnt’s page | What coverage prints |
|---|---|---|
| Date | 22-03-2016 release | casinos.com: “invented by Netent in 2017”; its trivia box says 2016 |
| Top figure | 700 x bet | casinos.com: capped at 1,000x; SlotsTemple: 2,000x |
| RTP | 96.42% | SlotsTemple: 98.01% |
| Minimum cluster | not stated | PokerStars and SlotsTemple: 9 or more |
| Grid | 6x5 reels/rows | PokerStars: five reels and six rows |
| Win lines | Cluster Pays | PokerStars: no paylines; SlotsTemple: 10 paylines |
None of this makes the coverage wrong in every cell. RTP can ship in more than one operator-selectable version, so a 98.01% figure may describe another configuration, or may be an error; the studio sheet prints 96.42%, and that is all this desk can say. The nine-symbol minimum may well be the game’s rule, but it is coverage’s figure, not one NetEnt’s page prints, and the paytable inside the game is the copy of record.
Cluster pays vs paylines: what changes, and what does not
The count changes. A payline game reads fixed paths; a cluster game reads shapes, which suits a square field such as Reactoonz’s 7x7 grid. The minimum is the design lever: Aloha’s coverage puts it at nine on a 6x5 grid, while Reactoonz and Sugar Rush ask for five.
What the format does not do, on these sheets, is set the return. Aloha’s 96.42% and Sugar Rush’s 96.50% are whole-game figures; cluster pays is part of how they are reached, not an addition to them. Where that number is printed, and why it can differ by casino, is in how to find RTP on a slot machine.
Frequently asked questions
What is considered a cluster in Cluster Pays?
A group of matching symbols that touch each other horizontally or vertically, at or above the game’s minimum size. The minimum is a per-game rule: Play’n GO’s Reactoonz page says five or more matching aliens, Pragmatic Play’s Sugar Rush page says clusters of 5-15+. NetEnt’s Aloha! page does not print one; coverage says nine. The in-game paytable is the copy to check.
Are there limits to the number of cascades per spin?
None of the three studio pages read here prints a fixed cap on refills. The sequences end on their own terms instead: in Aloha! Cluster Pays, NetEnt says the Sticky Win Re-spin continues until a spin does not grow the cluster or the cluster fills the screen. Sugar Rush caps its spot multiplier at 128x rather than capping the tumbles themselves.
Can operators customize the cluster size requirement?
Not on the evidence of the studio pages read here: none of the three says an operator may change the minimum cluster. One ranking page, 18Peaches, says operators can, without citing a game sheet. What can vary by operator is the RTP configuration a game ships in, which is why the paytable inside the game, not a review page, is the authoritative copy.
This is a description of a mechanic, not advice on playing one; nothing here was played or recommended. Slots are entertainment with a built-in house edge, and counting wins in clusters does not remove it. 18+.